Certified Maintenance Planner (CMP)

In order to give recognition to the essential role that professional maintenance planners perform in Asset Management, SAAMA developed and registered the “certified maintenance planner” (CMP) designation that is approved by SAQA.  Further career progression can lead to qualification for the WPiAM GCS designations.


CPD Requirements

CMP designation holders will be required to make continuing professional development (CPD) submissions every 3 years from initial approval with a view to ensuring ongoing competency to perform the role of Certified Maintenance Planner. The requirement will be 15 CPD points accumulated over the 3-year period in line with criteria indicated in the CPD policy. 

Professional membership fees with SAAMA must be paid up to date.

Recertification fees: R600

Application Process

Before applying for the designation, please familiarise yourself with the following requirements.  To qualify for the certified maintenance planner designation, the applicant must have:

  • Occupational Certificate: Maintenance Planner,  NQF Level 05.
  • Minimum of 3 years relevant experience as a maintenance planner, sufficient to provide a body of evidence.
  • SAAMA membership fees up to date.

To apply, for the designation, please click here.  Application fees: R2 000